My Superpowers Have Yet to Come

 

“I am mentally ill. I can say that. I am not ashamed of that. I survived that, I’m still surviving it, but bring it on.” -Carrie Fisher

920x920

Welcome to my blog: My Superpowers Have Yet to Come! I am going to be upfront about it: I live everyday with a variety of mental health conditions. What’s my superpower you are wondering? The cool ones like teletransportation or flying haven’t come yet. The superpowers that I do have are not seen in comic books, but they are the powers that everyone with mental illness has. We get up, we fight to get better, we endure unimaginable pain, and we continue fighting. If you ask me that’s a superpower.

This may be a cliche, but I believe that stories have power. When I first started having symptoms of anxiety, OCD, and depression as a child, I thought that I was the only one. I felt scared and alone. I know now that there are a lot of us! I want to build an army. An army of people who are sometimes too depressed to leave the house for weeks or too anxious to have a conversation. We can be like Dumbledores’s Army, except we are fighting our own internal death eater and not evil wizards. As one of my favorite people on the planet (Jenny Lawson aka The Bloggess) like to say, let’s be friends!

 

2 thoughts on “My Superpowers Have Yet to Come

  1. Sometimes I’m amazed at myself when I realize I can still get out of bed after 40+ years with my superf@*%!ing powers.

Leave a comment